The IMA Educational Case Journal (IECJ®) is a quarterly, online journal whose mission is to publish for management accounting and related fields:

  • Teaching cases
  • Research related to case writing or teaching with cases

The case studies in this journal provide an educational resource rich in detail to reflect current problems and complexities characteristic of today's dynamic business environment. It aims to facilitate interaction between financial professionals and educators.

IECJ is listed in the Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting.


IECJ Case Writing Competitions 

  • 2023 MAS/IMA Teaching Case Conference / Call for CasesThe MAS/IMA Teaching Case Conference is requesting case submissions. In addition to cases related to traditional management accounting topics, we are looking for cases on current topics such as Data Analytics, Artificial Intelligence, DEI, and Sustainability (ESG). In addition, we are seeking case ideas for a special workshop session.

    Conference Information

    Deadline:  July 22, 2023


How can I submit a case for publication?

Case studies jointly authored by academics and practitioners are strongly encouraged. Real-world cases are strongly preferred, but fictional cases, especially those with some basis in practice, will be considered. International submissions are welcome and encouraged.

Editorial Policy and Submission Guidelines

Case submissions are refereed by members of the IECJ Editorial Advisory and Review Board using a double-blind review process. 

Editorial Board Bios 

First Place ($3,000)
"Society Savings Bank: Small Enough to Indict"
Karen Meyers, JD, MBA, Med – Miami University
Harshini P. Siriwardane, CMA, PhD – Miami UniversityDineth Siriwardane, CFA – Allspring Global Investments

Second Place ($2,000)
"Compensation and Hiring Discrimination and the Accounting Standards:  We’ve Already Met Our Quota"
Trish Driskill, PhD, CPA – University of the Incarnate Word
Teresa Harrison, PhD – University of the Incarnate Word
Hannah Nelson, MSA – University of the Incarnate Word

Co-Third Place ($1,000)
"SABMiller plc: The Case for ESG Reporting"
Kristine Brands, PhD, CMA – United States Air Force Academy 
Mark Holtzblatt, PhD, CPA – Cleveland State University

"Tech Discounts: Budget Analysis for a Social Enterprise"
Stephanie Dehning Grimm, PhD, CFA – Opus College of Business, University of St. Thomas


Leif Sjöblom, IMD (Switzerland)

Managing Editor

Qi “Susie” Duong, PhD, CMA, CPA, CIA, EA (USA)

Associate Editors

Jason C. Porter, Washington State University (USA)

Laurie Burney, Baylor University (USA)

Margaret Shackell-Dowell, Ithica College (USA)

Thomas G. Calderon, The University of Akron (USA)

Editorial Advisory and Review Board

  • Güler Aras, Yildiz Technical University (Turkey)

  • D’Arcy Becker, University of Wisconsin – Whitewater (USA)

  • Vince Bruni-Bossio, University of Saskatchewan (Canada)

  • Dennis Caplan, University at Albany (USA)

  • Peter Clarke, University College Dublin (Ireland)

  • Tony Curatola, Drexel University (USA)

  • Nicholas Fessler, Western Kentucky University, (USA)

  • George Joseph, University of Massachusetts Lowell (USA)

  • Suresh Kalagnanam, University of Saskatchewan (Canada)

  • William Koprowski (USA)

  • Jim Mackey, California State University Sacramento (USA)

  • Keith Maki (USA)

  • Ella Mae Matsumura, University of Wisconsin – Madison (USA)

  • Mark Mishler, University of Michigan (USA)

  • Shane Moriarity, Actrix (New Zealand)

  • Essam Moustafa, United Arab Emirates University (UAE)

  • Neale O’Connor, Moonash University (Malaysia)

  • Paolo Perego, Free University of Bolanzo-Bozen (Italy)

  • Robert Rankin, Texas A&M University (USA)

  • Norman Sheehan, University of Saskatchewan (Canada)

  • Gary Spraakman, York University (Canada)

  • Teresa Stephenson, University of Alaska Anchorage (USA)

  • Marty Stuebs, Baylor University (USA)

  • Monte Swain, Brigham Young University (USA)

  • Susan Weiss, Rhode Island College (USA)

  • Lourdes Ferreira White, University of Baltimore (USA)

  • Vanita Yadav, Central Queensland University (AU)

  • Randall Young, Texas State University (USA)

  • Jidong Zhang, Winona State University (USA)


For questions regarding the IECJ, contact:
IECJ Editor